Wyoming Motorists Will Pay More For Vehicle Registration On July 1
Motorists will pay more for driver license and motor vehicle registration fees starting July 1, according to a news release from the Wyoming Department of Transportation.
Natrona County Treasurer Tom Doyle added the increases apply to all vehicle types, trailers, motor homes and motorcycles.
“The entire amount collected for the state fee goes directly to the Department of Transportation, State of Wyoming,” Doyle said in a news release. “No amount from this increase goes to the county, the city, or the schools.”
Doyle urges those who have license plates and registrations expiring in June to renew on or before Friday.
People can renew online by visiting http://www.natrona.net/renew using and entering the code on the postcard you received in the mail, Doyle said.
For motor vehicle registrations, the increases depend on the type of
vehicle, according to WYDOT.
For passenger cars, the state portion will increase from $15 to $30. So if a passenger car’s registration fee is $300, Wyoming highways previously received $15 but will now receive $30.
The county receives the remainder of the funds, but not from the $15 increase.
For a driver’s license, the fee will increase from $20 to $40.
The increases are the result of two bills approved by the 2017 Legislature. One increases the fees for a driver’s license, and the other increases the state’s portion of motor vehicle registrations.
The increases will replace a portion of the $25 million in state general funding that lawmakers removed from WYDOT’s budget this past session. WYDOT received those funds each fiscal year to maintain and operate the state’s road and bridges.
“With WYDOT no longer receiving any general funds from the state, the fee increases will be used to maintain a safe, high-quality and efficient transportation system to the traveling public,” department Director Bill Panos said.
This marks the first time since 1993 driver licenses fees have increased, Panos said. “Previously, the fees collected covered 40 percent of the costs of producing a driver’s license. The increases will now cover 80 percent of the costs.”
Likewise, lawmakers last increased the state portion of vehicle registration fees in 1975, he said.