Fun Fact: A 12-Year-Old Can Get A Ticket In Wyoming
To promote the national Click It or Ticket campaign, the Wyoming Highway Patrol issued a friendly reminder this morning. Even a 12-year-old kid can get a ticket for not wearing a seatbelt.
Wyoming law makes drivers legally responsible for any passengers in the vehicle under the age of 12. Since passengers over the age of 12 are responsible for their own seat belt, a sixth-grader could technically be ticketed.
"You are responsible anyone under the age of 12, but if a 12-year-old kid doesn't put their seat belt, they can get a citation," Wyoming Highway Patrolman Tim Romig explained in an interview with KGAB Radio this morning. "We will write 12-year-olds and 13-year-olds a ticket."
Luckily, a seat belt ticket for a tween or a teenage passenger is only ten dollars, according to Romig.
"It's a very inexpensive citation," he said. "For a 13 or 14-year-old, it's a lesson we hope they'll remember for a lifetime."