* A Mountain West press release contributed to this report

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – Former Wyoming stars Hunter Maldonado and Larry Nance Jr. Wednesday were named to the Mountain West's 25th Season Team.

Maldonado, who suited up for the Cowboys from 2017-2023, is the third-leading scorer in program history with 2,158 points. After last season, the Colorado Springs, Colo., product was the conference's all-time assist leader with 630. He now sits in second place behind Colorado State's Isaiah Stevens, who also landed on the league's 25th anniversary squad.

Laramie Live logo
Get our free mobile app

Maldonado, who currently plays for the Oklahoma City Blue, the Thunder's G-League squad, was named to the All-Mountain West team three times, including first-team honors as a senior.

The versatile guard led the program to a berth in the First Four of the NCAA Tournament in 2022.

Nance (2011-15) helped lead Wyoming to its only Mountain West Tournament championship in 2015. The high-flying forward averaged 16.1 points per game that season as the Cowboys earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament.

The Cleveland native was twice named to the All-Mountain West First Team and was the conference's Defensive Player of the Year in '15.

Nance was selected 27th overall by the Los Angles Lakers in the 2015 NBA Draft. He currently plays for the New Orleans Pelicans.

The Mountain West is celebrating its 25th Season of excellence on and off the field of play. During each Mountain West Championship in 2023-24, the Conference will recognize a 25th Season Team.

Entering the 25th Mountain West Men’s Basketball Championship, 10 different institutions have claimed regular-season titles and 11 different institutions have celebrated Conference championship crowns. New Mexico (4), San Diego State (7), UNLV (3) and Utah State (2) have won multiple MW championship titles.

Below is the 25th Season Team for men’s basketball as compiled from the Mountain West 25th Season Committee, composed of members from the 11 full-time institutions.


Boise State - Chandler Hutchison

Boise State - Derrick Marks

BYU - Rafael Araujo

BYU - Jimmer Ferdette

CSU - David Roddy

CSU - Isaiah Stevens

Fresno State - Marvelle Harris

Nevada - Jordan Caroline

Nevada - Caleb Martin

Nevada - Cody Martin

New Mexico - Ruben Douglas

New Mexico - Danny Granger

New Mexico - Kendall Williams

San Diego State - Malachi Flynn

San Diego State - Jamaal Franklin

San Diego State - Brandon Heath

San Diego State - Kawhi Leonard

San Diego State - Xavier Thames

UNLV - Marcus Banks

UNLV - Anthony Bennett

Utah - Andrew Bogut

Utah State - Sam Merrill

Utah State - Neemias Queta

Wyoming - Hunter Maldonado

Wyoming - Larry Nance Jr.

POKES: The Seven Best Games In The History Of The Wyoming-CSU Border War Rivalry (Naturally, they were all Wyoming wins)

More From Laramie Live