JACKSON, Wyo. (AP) — The Wyoming Legislature will seat one independent representative in the next session.

Jim Roscoe defeated incumbent Republican Marti Halvorson in the House District 22 race on Tuesday to become Wyoming's second independent state legislator and the first independent representative in 40 years.

District 22 covers parts of Teton, Sublette and Lincoln counties.

The Jackson Hole News & Guide reports that Roscoe previously represented the district as a Democrat for two terms a decade ago.

On the list of independents in the state Legislature, Roscoe is preceded only by William Holland, who represented Johnson County from 1971 to 1978, back when legislators were elected by county.

He said both the Republican and Democratic parties have invited him to caucus with them, though he isn't sure which he'll choose.