The University of Wyoming is among five mountain state schools receiving recognition for its community service projects.

UW was named to the President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll and recognized by the Campus Compact of the Mountain West.

The honor roll, launched in 2006, annually highlights the role colleges and universities play in solving community problems and placing more students on a lifelong path of civic engagement by recognizing institutions that achieve meaningful, measureable outcomes in the communities they serve.

UW was named in the General Community Service category along with regional schools Colorado State University, Colorado Mesa University, Johnson and Wales University and the University of Denver.

Arizona, Colorado, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wyoming are states with approximately 40 colleges and universities that are affiliated with Campus Compact of the Mountain West.